next race day

Monday, July 13 first post 01:10PM Race Schedule

Possible Contenders for the 79th Edition of the Prince of Wales Stakes

The nominations for the second jewel in Canada’s Triple Crown of horseracing closed Tuesday, July 15th with 11 possible entrants for the Prince of Wales Stakes to be run at Fort Erie Race Track.

Lexie Lou, the filly who captured the Queen’s Plate at Woodbine on July 6th was not made eligible to compete by her connections making the race a wide open event for a $500,000 purse.

Run at one mile and three sixteenths, the Prince of Wales is the only race in the Canadian Triple Crown Series that is run on a traditional dirt surface.

The nominations are as follows:

Ami's Holiday Ivan Dalos Josie Carroll
Ascot Martin Beclawat Stable Mike Keogh
Bangkok Gail Wood & Ruth Barbour Phil Gracey
Coltimus Prime Cabernet Racing Stable Justin Nixon
East Side Stoneway Farm Mark Casse
Lions Bay M. N. V. & J. Earle Jamie Attard
Lynx Peachtree Stable Cathal Lynch
Matador John C. Oxley Mark Casse
Money Talks RPI Stable, Natural Eight Stable, Harrison & McLaughlin Bill Tharrenos
Rhythm Blues Hillsbrook Farms Nick Gonzalez
Smart Spree Augustin Stable Mark Frostad

The draw for the Prince of Wales will take place on Friday, July 25th in the Fort Erie Race Office at 1pm. Members of the media are welcome to attend.

The Prince of Wales will be run on Tuesday, July 29th. First race post time is scheduled for 4:15. The Prince of Wales will be televised on TSN from 7pm to 8pm EDT with the Prince of Wales scheduled for 7:40 pm.

Elissa Blowe
Media & Marketing Manager
1-800-295-3770 ext. 3204